Already a DIA Member? Sign in. Not a member? Join.

Sign in

Forgot User ID? or Forgot Password?

Not a Member?

Create Account and Join

Back to Press-Releases

DIA Expands Board of Directors' Global Footprint with 2 Appointments

Dr. Zili Li and David Mukanga will enhance organization's reach into China and Africa

WASHINGTON — July 1, 2024 — DIA, a global organization of life sciences professionals, is solidifying its commitment to amplifying perspectives from key regions by naming Dr. Zili Li, a Fellow of DIA and the chair of DIA's China Regional Advisory Council from 2020-21, and David Mukanga, the Deputy Director of Africa Regulatory Systems at the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, to serve on its Board of Directors.

Li and Mukanga were appointed to standard three-year terms on the 14-member Board of Directors following an extensive nomination procedure that factored in guidance from DIA's governance committee and a formal vote by returning Board members.

"Zili and David's invaluable expertise in global health initiatives and unique insights into regulatory affairs will ensure we can effectively extend our impact in China and Sub-Saharan Africa," said Marwan Fathallah, DIA's President and Chief Executive Officer. "With their guidance, DIA will be better positioned to enhance its reach, tap into new opportunities with different populations, and address emerging health challenges on a truly global scale."

Li returns to the Board of Directors after he was first elected in 2015. He was most recently the Vice President, Head of Asia Pacific Research and Development at Janssen and also served as the Associate Director for Global Affairs at the FDA's Office of Generic Drugs. He previously held various roles at Merck & Co. and was the Head of China R&D at the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation's Beijing office. Li is a graduate of Peking Union Medical College.

Mukanga leads the Africa regulatory systems optimization portfolio at the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation and has 25 years of experience spanning regulatory affairs, health systems development, clinical research, and product development. He holds a bachelor's degree and a Master of Public Health from Makerere University and a Doctor of Philosophy from the Karolinska Institute.

In addition, last year’s Chair-Elect, Dr. Kihito Takahashi, replaces Michael Rosenblatt as Chair, and Rachel Zhang assumes the position of Chair-Elect. Dr. Peter Honig remains on the Board for a second consecutive term, Dr. Frank Jiang has become a Strategic Advisor to the Board of Directors after completing his term as a Director, and Kim Quaintance-Lunn has been named a Strategic Advisor.

DIA's Board of Directors for 2024-25 are:

  • Kihito Takahashi, MD, PhD, Chair
  • Rachel Zhang, MBA, Chair-Elect
  • Tatyana Kosheleva, CPA, Secretary/Treasurer
  • Michael Rosenblatt, MD, Immediate Past Chair
  • Marwan A. Fathallah, MBA, President and Chief Executive Officer
  • Junaid Bajwa, MD, Director
  • Jens Grueger, PhD, Director
  • Peter Honig, MD, MPH, Director
  • Zili Li, MD, MPH, Director
  • Jason Monteleone, CPA, CMA, MBA, Director
  • David Mukanga, PhD, MPH, Director
  • Chockalingam Palaniappan, PhD, Director
  • Peter Ronco, Director
  • Peter Sorger, PhD, Director

DIA's Strategic Advisors to the Board of Directors for 2024-25 are:

  • Craig Carra, CPA, MBA
  • Ashraf El Fiky, MD, PhD
  • Frank N. Jiang, MD, PhD
  • Kim Quaintance-Lunn
  • Wendy Yan, MBA

DIA's Board of Directors collaborates to provide clarity, direction, and policy objectives. Along with its standing committees, the Board ensures DIA meets the requirements of its members in the content of its programs, research, and financial decisions. Board membership is voluntary, and DIA does not compensate any director or members of advisory councils for their contributions.


Media Contact

Denise DiMeglio
Gregory FCA

Be informed and stay engaged.

Don't miss an opportunity - join our mailing list to stay up to date on DIA insights and events.