Back to Press-Releases

DIA Announces 2019 Global Inspire Award Winners

DIA, founded as the Drug Information Association, announced today the recipients of the DIA Global Inspire Awards. These awards combine recognition of those individuals who have made outstanding contributions to advancing global health with volunteer service awards that honor exceptional leadership, commitment to service, and advancement of DIA’s mission.

The DIA Global Inspire Awards include the Chairman’s Award for Outstanding Contribution to Global Health, the Excellence in Service Award, the Global Connector Award, the Community Engagement Award, and the Author of the Year Award.

“DIA members are exceptional leaders who exemplify the forward thinking our industry needs to advance global health. Each year we have the distinct honor to recognize the people and organizations working relentlessly to improve health around the world,” said Barbara Lopez Kunz, Global Chief Executive, DIA.

Recipients of the 2019 Global Inspire Awards

Chairman’s Award for Outstanding Contribution to Global Health for significant and innovative contributions toward advancing global health:

Excellence in Service Award for the “member of the year” who has consistently provided outstanding service as a DIA volunteer, contributing to the advancement of DIA’s mission:

  • Jingsong Wang, MD, PhD, Chief Executive Officer, Harbour Biomed

Global Connector Award for meritorious service through a leadership role that has advanced the mission of DIA and promoted global collaboration:

  • Deborah Chee, MD, PhD, President, Korea National Enterprise for Clinical Trials

Community Engagement Award for the DIA Community Chair (or Chairs) for consistently driving engagement while advancing knowledge and thought leadership within their membership Community:

  • Robert Paarlberg, MS, Principal, Paarlberg & Associates LLC
  • Francine Lane, MBA, Vice President, Global Transparency, TrialScope

Author of the Year for the author or group of authors whose article made the greatest impact on readership, as determined by the most downloads in the preceding issue year for DIA’s peer-reviewed journal, Therapeutic Innovation and Regulatory Science:

  • Nancy A. Dreyer, PhD, MPH, Chief Scientific Officer, Real-World & Analytic Solutions, IQVIA
    Advancing a Framework for Regulatory Use of Real World Evidence: When Real Is Reliable

“Members of the DIA community are taking the next step, passing the baton, and creating new knowledge as we collectively move forward in our mission to advance the health and well-being of the patients who inspire us. DIA could not be more proud of the contributions these members have made to the advancement of healthcare worldwide and congratulate them on being DIA Global Inspire Award winners,” said Kunz.

These awards will be presented at the DIA Inspires 2019 Annual Celebration of Volunteerism to be held on Monday, June 24 at the upcoming DIA 2019 Global Annual Meeting in San Diego, CA June 23-27. The event is being held to honor DIA’s most devoted and engaged volunteers who have dedicated their energy and enthusiasm to drive DIA’s mission forward.

For more information or to join the DIA Board of Directors at the 2019 DIA Inspire Awards Ceremony, please contact This is your opportunity to gain visibility into the achievements of the award winners and engage with DIA’s Board of Directors, Executive Leadership Team, and other DIA supporters.

To learn more and register for DIA 2019 Global Annual Meeting visit, For live updates, attendees and the public should follow and join the conversation on Twitter, @DrugInfoAssn, using the hashtag #DIA2019.