The Science and Policy Advisory Council provides a disruptive force in our dynamic healthcare forum through expert observations and recommendations on DIA's content strategies, essential research questions, key opinion leaders, collaboration partners, and trends affecting the future life sciences landscape.

Michael Rosenblatt


Michael Rosenblatt, MD, Senor Partner at Flagship Pioneering, has advanced academic and biopharmaceutical research and development throughout his career. He was previously Chief Medical Officer for Merck, after serving as Dean of Tufts Medical School. Formerly, he was Ebert Professor of Molecular Medicine and Minot Professor at Harvard. He served as President of Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center and as Director of the Harvard-MIT Division of Health Sciences & Technology. He is on the board of several life sciences companies, and on the Harvard Medical School Board of Fellows and research advisory committees of the Massachusetts General, Brigham and Women’s, and Boston Children’s Hospitals. He earned his MD from Harvard Medical School.

Clark Golestani


Clark Golestani is an investor, advisor with a focus on the healthcare, life science and TMT sectors. Golestani currently serves as the Managing Director of C Sensei Group, LLC, as a senior advisor to New Mountain Capital, an investment advisor to The CXO Fund, and as a special advisor to the Dean at the University of Texas at Austin, Dell Medical School. He serves as chairman of the board for Sparta Systems, and as an independent director on the board for CIOX Health, eMids, TruU, Inc., UMUC/Ventures, and Zapata Computing. Golestani retired from Merck in 2018 as the President, Emerging Businesses and Global CIO. Prior to Merck, he was a principal with Oracle. He attended the Massachusetts Institute of Technology Sloan School of Management.

Nancy A. Dreyer

Fellow of DIA

Nancy Dreyer is Chief Scientific Officer and SVP at IQVIA and Adjunct Professor of Epidemiology at the U of N Carolina School of Global Public Health. She leads the IQVIA Center for Advanced Evidence Generation. A fellow of both the International Society for Pharmacoepidemiology and DIA, her current work is focused on COVID-19 along with other issues of regulatory and public health importance. Recent recognition includes the Red Jacket honor from PharmaVOICE in 2020 and DIA’s Global Inspire Award for Author of the Year in 2019. She is also celebrating recent publication of the 4th edition of the popular book “Registries for Evaluating Patient Outcomes: a User’s Guide.”

Susanne Gronen

Susanne Gronen leads the Data Science organization in Development for Astellas. Her responsibilities include Biostatistics, Statistical Programming, Data Management and Medical Writing for Clinical Development and Medical Affairs. Over the last few years, Susanne has fully globalized her organization. Under her leadership, the department has built a Central Monitoring & Data Surveillance team in support of the overall risk based monitoring effort. Susanne has spent most of her career in data science functions. Prior to joining Astellas, she worked at a global CRO as a statistician. Susanne holds an MSc in Statistics from the University of Dortmund, Germany.

Yeul Hong Kim

Yeul Hong Kim, MD, PhD, is a Professor in the Department of Internal Medicine at the Korea University College of Medicine in Seoul. He is actively involved in cancer genomic research, using circulating tumor DNA, for lung and gastrointestinal cancers. His primary area of interest is in the development of new therapies in gastric cancer, colon cancer, and other gastrointestinal cancers including pancreatic cancer and biliary cancer. Dr. Kim has also served as President of the Asian Clinical Oncology Society since 2016. He is also Director of the K-MASTER Cancer Precision Medicine Diagnosis and Treatment Enterprise, a cancer precision medicine project funded by the Korea Ministry of Health and Welfare.

Sandra A. Milligan

Fellow of DIA

Sandra Milligan has been appointed as executive vice president and head of Research and Development, Organon & Co., Merck’s intended spinoff of its women’s health, legacy brands and biosimilars businesses. Prior to this role, she served as senior vice president and head of Global Regulatory Affairs and Clinical Safety (GRACS), consisting of global Regulatory, Safety and CMC functions of Merck Research Laboratories at Merck & Co., Inc. From 2011 to 2017, Sandy served on the board of directors and executive committee of the DIA. In 2017, Sandra was recognized as a DIA Fellow and was appointed to the Science Advisory Council in 2018. She is a graduate of George Washington University School of Medicine and Georgetown University Law Center.

Ling Su

Fellow of DIA

Dr. Ling Su is a Research Fellow in Shengyang Pharmaceutical University Yeehong Business School and a Venture Partner in Lilly Asia Ventures (LAV). He has 30 years of experience in drug regulatory and development. He had worked in various R&D management positions in the pharma industry, including Medical Director at MSD, Pharma Development Director at Roche, VP for Clinical Research Asia Pacific at Wyeth, and SVP and Head of Pharma Development China at Novartis. Prior to that, he worked in the Chinese regulatory agency and CDER, US FDA. He is a Fellow of DIA and was the President of DIA (2012-2013). Ling holds BS in pharmacology from Shanghai Medical University and PhD in Epidemiology from University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA.

Robert M. Califf


Robert Califf, MD is the Donald F. Fortin, MD, Professor of Cardiology at the Duke University School of Medicine. He is also Professor of Medicine in the Division of Cardiology and remains a practicing cardiologist. Dr. Califf was the Commissioner of FDA in 2016-2017 and Deputy Commissioner for Medical Products and Tobacco from February 2015 until his appointment as Commissioner in February 2016. Prior to joining the FDA, Dr. Califf was a professor of medicine and vice chancellor for clinical and translational research at Duke University. Dr. Califf has led many landmark clinical trials and is one of the most frequently cited authors in biomedical science, with more than 1,200 publications in the peer-reviewed literature.

Margaret A. Hamburg


Dr. Hamburg is an internationally recognized leader in public health and medicine. She is the former Commissioner of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA), having stepped down from that role in April 2015 after almost six years of service. As FDA Commissioner she was known for advancing regulatory science, streamlining and modernizing FDA’s regulatory pathways, and globalization of the agency. Before joining FDA, Dr. Hamburg was founding vice president and senior scientist at the Nuclear Threat Initiative, a foundation dedicated to reducing nuclear, chemical and biological threats. Dr. Hamburg earned her B.A. from Harvard College, her M.D. from Harvard Medical School and completed her medical residency at Weill Cornell Medical Center.

Sandra Horning


Sandra Horning, MD is currently a co-founder and advisor for EQRx, a biotechnology company focused on creating innovative medicines at lower prices. Previously she served as CMO and Head of Global Product Development at Genentech/Roche from 2014 to 2019. Over the course of a decade, she oversaw the approval of 15 new medicines across a variety of diseases. Prior to joining Genentech, she spent more than 20 years as a Professor of Medicine, Oncology and Blood and Bone Marrow Transplantation at Stanford University School of Medicine, where she remains an Emerita Professor. Dr. Horning received her M.D. from University of Iowa School of Medicine and completed her post-graduate fellowship in Oncology and Cancer Biology at Stanford University.