The Patient Advisory Council ensures that every activity of DIA actively incorporates and reflects the perspectives of the patients we ultimately serve.

Ronald Joseph Bartek

Friedreich's Ataxia Research Alliance

Ronald Bartek, MS, serves as President of the Friedreich’s Ataxia Research Alliance, on the Board of Directors for the National Organization for Rare Disorders, and as a Board Director for the Alliance for a Stronger FDA. Ron previously served for twenty years in the federal government executive and legislative branches, including in the Policy Staff of the House Armed Services Committee and the US State Department, in defense, foreign policy, and intelligence. He is also a member of the US National Institutes of Health (NIH) NCATS Advisory Council/Cures Acceleration Network Review Board, and of the NIH/NINDS National Advisory Council. Ron earned his Master’s Degree in Russian Area Studies from Georgetown University.

Nicola Bedlington

European Patient's Forum

Nicola Bedlington was first Executive Director of the European Patients’ Forum (EUPATI), which she continues to serve as its Secretary General, and is co-founder of Patients Access Partnership (PACT). She previously provided leadership to the Swiss government’s Environment and Schools Initiatives (ENSI) Secretariat, an international government-based network established by the international Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development network in the field of Education for Sustainable Development. She also served the European Commission as an external expert in its NGO unit on disability policy, and was the Founding Director of the European Disability Forum. Nicola studied business and human resource management in the UK and France.

Tanisha Carino


Tanisha Carino, PhD, serves as Executive Director of FasterCures, the Center of the Milken Institute devoted to saving lives and improving the medical research system. A respected senior executive with more than two decades of experience in academia, government, and the private sector, Dr. Carino has been at the forefront of collaborative efforts to promote policies, research, and business practices that support the fight against disease and improve the lives of patients. Dr. Carino previously held leadership positions at GlaxoSmithKline, Avalere Health, and the Medicare program. She earned her PhD in Health Policy from Johns Hopkins University and is a Fulbright fellow.

Nikos Dedes

European AIDS Treatment Group

Nikos Dedes is chair of the ‘European AIDS Treatment Group’, founder and chair of ‘Positive Voice’, and vice-chair of ‘Prometheus’, and past member of the Management Board of the European Medicines Agency. Nikos participates on the Steering Committees of NEATid, and the “HIV Outcomes – Beyond Viral Suppression” initiatives. He is a member of the HIV Treatment Guidelines Panel of the European AIDS Clinical Society and member of the Coordinating Team of the HIV, Hepatitis & TB Civil Society Forum, an advisory group to DG SANTE. He is also member of National Clinical Trials Ethics Committee and member of the Board of Directors of the European Forum for Good Clinical Practice.

Yves Juillet

Fellow of DIA

Academy of Medicine Foundation

Yves Juillet, MD, is the Secretary General of the Foundation of the French Academy of Medicine. He is a Member of the Academy of Medicine of France and Past President of the National Academy of Pharmacy. He was Chair of the EFPIA Scientific Technical and Regulatory Policy Committee, and also served as Chairman of the IFPMA Regulatory Policy and Technical Standards Committee. Dr. Juillet represented European industry as a Member of the ICH Steering Committee, co-chaired the ICH Global Cooperation Group, and was a Member of the official Registration Committee, and Transparency and Post-Marketing Committees, of the French Health Ministry. He is a Fellow of DIA and was the first DIA Board President from Europe.

Jeffrey W. Sherman

Fellow of DIA

Horizon Pharma

Jeffrey W. Sherman, MD, FACP, is Chief Medical Officer and Executive Vice President at Horizon Pharma. Dr. Sherman has more than 25 years of pharmaceutical industry experience through engagements with IDM Pharma, Takeda Global Research and Development, NeoPharm, Searle/Pharmacia, and Squibb/Bristol-Myers Squibb. He a Past President of DIA, has served as DIA Annual Meeting Chair, received the DIA Outstanding Service Award, serves as DIA liaison to the FDA Clinical Trial Transformation Initiative Steering Committee, and was an inaugural DIA Fellow. He is a member of the Global Genes Medical and Scientific Advisory Board, and serves on the Board of Advisors of the Center for Information and Study on Clinical Research Participation.

Rebecca A. Vermeulen

Hoffmann-La Roche Ltd.

Rebecca Vermeulen, RPh, brings a variety of experiences to her role as Customer Strategy and Patient Partnership for Global Medical Affairs at Roche. She has served in numerous functions including Medical Affairs, Clinical Research, Sales, Medical Communications, Medical Science Liaisons, Patient Partnership, Digital Health, and Six Sigma, in her 26 years of healthcare industry experience, and has been responsible for creating global standards for information exchange with healthcare professionals and patients. Rebecca is currently Vice-Chair of the DIA Board of Directors, Vice-Chair of the Healthcare Businesswomen’s Association Corporate Board of Directors, and serves on the Patient Focused Medicine Development Advisory Committee.