Menu Back toInternational-Regulatory-Convergence

DIA 2018 Global Annual Meeting

The DIA 2018 Global Annual Meeting brings together thousands of innovators from around the globe.

International Regulatory Convergence

    Session Chair(s)
      Agnès  Saint-Raymond, MD

      Agnès Saint-Raymond, MD

      • Head of International Affairs, Head of Portfolio Board
      • European Medicines Agency (EMA), United Kingdom
    The objective of the forum is to highlight leadership from international regulatory agencies on the fight against antimicrobial resistance, including efforts such as the Trans-Atlantic Task Force on Antimicrobial Resistance (TATFAR), the tripartite EMA-FDA-PDMA meetings, bilateral EMA-FDA initiatives and the cooperation with WHO (including PAHO), OIE and Codex Alimentarius.

    We intend to show how international regulatory authorities cooperate to ensure global coordination of research activities, convergence on regulatory requirements for the approval of antibacterial agents, support to discussions on new business models for antibacterial agents, on alternative therapeutics approaches to antibiotics, and on prevention of resistance across regions, including antimicrobial stewardship following the One Health approach.
    Learning Objective : Describe how international regulatory authorities cooperate and collaborate, and the public health, economic, and political drivers for that cooperation; Describe how international regulatory agencies seek to set the strategic direction and priorities for the various regulatory initiatives.
      Ivo  Claassen, PhD, MSc

      The Fight Against Antimicrobial Resistance: A One Health Approach

      Ivo Claassen, PhD, MSc

      • Head of Veterinary Medicines Division
      • European Medicines Agency (EMA), United Kingdom
      Guido  Rasi, MD


      Guido Rasi, MD

      • Executive Director
      • European Medicines Agency (EMA), United Kingdom
      Tatsuya  Kondo, MD, PhD


      Tatsuya Kondo, MD, PhD

      • Chief Executive
      • Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency (PMDA), Japan
      Julio  Sánchez Y Tépoz


      Julio Sánchez Y Tépoz

      • Federal Commissioner
      • COFEPRIS, Mexico
      Pierre  Sabourin, MBA


      Pierre Sabourin, MBA

      • Assistant Deputy Minister, Health Products and Food Branch
      • Health Canada, Canada
      Donald  Prater, DVM


      Donald Prater, DVM

      • Assistant Commissioner for Food Safety Integration, OC
      • FDA, United States